The Federation is run by a Board of Trustees consisting of up to 15 members, of whom 12 are elected and up to three can be co-opted. They are responsible for the Federation’s overall control, management and leadership. Certain responsibilities can be delegated to volunteers or the employed office team.

The trustees are a link between the NFWI and individual WIs in Surrey and must ensure that they follow charity law and Charity Commission guidelines.  Their other responsibilities include:

  • passing on information from the NFWI to members;
  • setting the Federation’s budget and overseeing its finances;
  • attending board and sub-committee meetings;
  • issuing an annual report and accounts; and
  • organising events and activities for members.

Every two years the Chairman invites the trustees and each WI in the Federation to nominate members to be trustees.  If 12 or fewer nominations are received they are automatically appointed; if more than 12 are nominated a postal ballot of all Surrey WIs is held. The minimum number of elected trustees is eight. Additional trustees can be co-opted provided that they do not amount to more than a third of their total number. The trustees, who are all volunteers, appoint five officers from amongst their number: Chairman, three vice-Chairmen and the Federation Treasurer.

The Board of Trustees is always looking for new members, so if you are interested please contact the office. You may ask to be invited to attend a trustees’ meeting and must attend at least two meetings before you are asked if you are interested in becoming a board member, if you are you will need to be nominated by your WI or a trustee.

Carol Gartrell

Chairman of the Federation

Trustee | Secretary of Bagshot WI | Member of Deepcut and Frimley WI

Toto James

Vice Chairman of the Federation

Trustee | Head of Digital Working Group | Member of Fulham & Chelsea WI and Streatham WI

Angie Leach

Vice Chairman of the Federation

Trustee | Chairman of Membership Committee | WI Adviser | President of Streatham WI

Debbie Playle

Vice Chairman of the Federation

Trustee | Member of Digital Working Group | Social Media Champion | Assistant Co-ordinator Purley Group of WIs | Member of Old Coulsdon Cupcakes WI

Hilary Brooks


Resolution and Campaign Advocate | Member of Walton-on-Thames WI

Betty Dominy


Chair of Home Economics, Craft and Gardening Committee | Let's Cook Co-ordinator | Member of New Malden WI and Malden Manorettes WI

Sheena Landgraf

Federation Treasurer

Trustee | Member of Caterham Hill WI

Marion Mitchell


Chair of Events, Leisure and Fundraising Committee | Co-ordinator for the Haslemere Group of WIs | President of Churt WI

Jill Mulryan


ACWW Representative | Assistant Co-ordinator Purley Group of WIs | Member of Old Coulsdon WI and Member of Kenley Flyers WI

Becky Warburton


Federation Publicity Officer | President of Tooting WI

Ruth Williams


President of Stoneleigh WI | Member of Ewell Court WI and Member of Cuddington WI



Contact Us